547 Franklin Street
Painting by Carl F. Zoschke
Original owner: Benson
In 1924, the owner was either Joseph Bradney (1844-1924) or, more probably, his son Joseph John Bradney, a Buffalo architect.
The father, Jospeh Bradney, was born in 1844 in England. In the US, he made his living as a chainmaker and later as a confectionery store owner. He was married to Mary Ann Hudson (1842-1916). They had three children:
- Mary (1875-1882)
- Emma Charlotte (1872-1918; m. 1896)
- Joseph John
Joseph Bradney died on June 30, 1924 and was buried from the Franklin Street home.
The building was used for apartments for many years.
In November 2000, it was announced that this 5-apartment building is now theMark Twain Museum of Buffalo. It will be renovated and open to the public in 2003.
Unique hip-roof Italianate with Gothic Revival wing and square cupola
Cupola and main eaves have dentils and scroll brackets.
Semi-elliptical arched entrance has wood-paneled double doors with single lights and a leaded-glass fanlight-shaped transom.
There is plain wood frieze.
The stucco finish is scored to give the impression of ashlar blocks.
The front porch on the wing has fluted posts, a pendant design in the balustrade and a stick design at the porch base.
A one-story rear addition made.
Sources of information:
- Carl F. Zoschke
- Obituary of Joseph Bradney on June 30, 1924
- "Buffalo's Brick Italianates: An Allentown Legacy," by Sonia R. Efron. 1994