Engine #15 Fire Station - Table of Contents ................. Black Rock - Table of Contents
Engine #15 Fire Station
64 Amherst Street, Buffalo, NY
|History:||This was one of three fire stations that used essentially the same design. The other
other two are No.34 on Main Street across the street from Bennett High School (photo) and the station on Elmwood and Amherst near the former
Pierce-Arrow plant, both of which are still being used as fire halls.
The cornerstone was laid in 1912.
Built to help protect Black Rock, which boasts over 90 pre-1850 standing houses in the area, for example 71-73 Amherst, diagonally across the street. The dominant style of the neighboring houses is Greek Revival.
The building ceased to be used as a fire station by the city in late 1970s. It was then sold and converted to several large apartments.
|Architect:||Thomas W. Harris (?)
Harris designed Engine #34 Firehouse on Main and Mercer (PHOTO)
|Architectural style:||In contrast to the mostly Greek Revival houses in the immediate neighborhood, the station is an example of Arts and Crafts style with Italianate ornamentation (especially the paired brackets and, of course, the tower)|
Key Bank on the left ... Station No. 15 on the right
Neighbors: Across the street on East Street are the St. Francis Xavier Church, rectory and school
Front (south elevation) on Amherst St.
Entablature includes dentils and frieze
East elevation on East Street
Italianate tower. Hoses were hung here to dry.
Neighbor: Half a block down the street on Amherst is St. John's United Church of Christ
East facade on East Street with neighbors at 140 and 142 East
Architect's plan showing the front elevation
Architect's plan of front doors, now replaced by a garage door
Cornerstone on right of front entry
City seal on left of front entry
Fire alarm boxes (here post only, box missing)
Architect's plan showing east elevation (on East Street)
Architect's plan showing west elevation (left side of building).